Dealing with your need to explore: Guest post

Hello everyone! Firstly, I would like to apologise about the lack of 
content lately, life is doing that funny thing again where it takes over.
This is a great post from the lovely lady behind The Travelling bookworm

Hope you enjoy this post and if so, go check out her blog!

How to travel, whilst saving up to travel.

I want to start by saying that for the next year or two, I’m working purely to save up to be able to afford a working holiday in either New Zealand or Canada, so this article will be based around managing to travel whilst saving up to travel!

No matter what stage of life you’re at, we all stumble across the difficult choice of a career Vs travel, and after much thought we’re often no closer to figuring out which to choose. Why choose? Although it’s hard, and often the balance isn’t equal, having both a career AND getting to travel IS possible! Read below for my top five tips on how to travel whilst saving up to travel.

desk-job

Tip One – Use your holidays wisely 

It’s no secret that we don’t get many opportunities to travel whilst we’re working, so how you use those opportunities determines what kind of travelling you’ll get to do. The way I see it there are two ways you can use your holiday entitlement: spread them out over the course of the year or take them all at once.

Taking all of your holidays at once

I’m not usually a fan of taking my holidays all at once, but sometimes there are exceptions. Next year I’ll be heading off to Vietnam in August for three weeks, meaning I’ll be using all of my holiday entitlement at once. This way of using your opportunities is perfect for those larger trips that need more than a week or two!

Spreading your holidays, across the year.

This is probably my favourite way of managing to travel whilst saving up to travel, purely and simply because it means I can travel more often than if I take all of my holidays at once. I like to have several little adventures throughout the year whilst I’m saving up, not only to have an amazing time exploring the country I was born in and the neighbouring countries, but to remind me that this travelling lifestyle is what I’m saving for in the first place: it serves as a reminder and inspiration so that going back to work on a Monday morning isn’t as devastating as it might otherwise be!

Tip Two – Use your weekends!

road trip.jpg

If you’re anything like me then as soon as five o’clock comes around on a Friday night you are DONE for the week. More often than not, it’s appealing to simply do the bare minimum at the weekend after a busy and stressful week at work. What I’ve found is that you can fit an awful lot of exploring into a single weekend. It’s so easy to forget that travelling doesn’t have to be half way across the world, you can still explore the land you live in! When I can drive, which is hopefully soon, I plan on making the most of my weekends even more so, with trips to Scotland and the Lake District as many times as I can!

Tip Three – Don’t be afraid to spend some money

A lot of the time, I put off travelling purely and simply because I feel guilty; I’m meant to be saving up TO TRAVEL, so I can’t exactly spend money travelling! Even though I still think like this, it’s definitely okay to spend money on travelling if you can. I’ve learnt that there’s no point in beating yourself up about it, and that you can’t tell yourself off for taking opportunities to travel instead of waiting for what may never be.

Tip Four – Take every opportunity life throws at you

I can’t emphasize the importance of this tip! So many of the good times of our lives happen when we least expect it, when we don’t plan for it. One of the most effective ways to travel more is to simply accept the opportunity when it presents itself to you. A friend need help moving house this weekend? Go help! Whilst it might not be a six month backpacking trip through Central America, it is a chance to see and explore places you haven’t yet been to! Accept every and any chance of travel, whether it’s delivering something for a family member or an impromptu road trip.

Tip Five – accept that for the time being, you won’t be travelling all the time

travel-fund

I think it’s every traveler’s dream to be a digital nomad and travel the world forever, but getting to that level doesn’t happen overnight. It’s going to be a case of working your backside off, and that often means long working hours, and sometimes several jobs! If you accept that working for six months doesn’t mean you’ll be able to travel for the next five years, it’s easier to slowly work towards your goals, and not be disheartened when it seems like everyone is travelling to exotic lands except for you.

Managing to travel whilst you’re saving up to travel is always going to be a hard balancing act, but if you are goal-orientated and work towards your goals in the short term and long term, you’ll find that you’re a lot closer to your goals than you were when you first started.

 

Credits:
http://www.esquire.com/style/mens-fashion/a38714/road-trip-style/
http://worldbestplaces.info/place/what-happens-when-you-quit-your-desk-job-to-travel-the-world-and-work-for-yourself
2 thoughts on “Dealing with your need to explore: Guest post

Leave a Reply

